Director, Mass Spectroscopy Laboratory

Brandie M. Ehrmann, Ph.D.
Caudill Laboratories 022 – Office
Curriculum Vitae

Dr. Brandie Ehrmann, a mass spectrometrist with expertise in ultra-high resolution mass spectrometry and complex mixture analysis, operates the Mass Spectrometry Division of the Chemical Research Instrumentation Training and Core Laboratories, CRITCL, within the UNC Department of Chemistry. Dr. Ehrmann received her PhD. in Analytical Chemistry from Florida State University in Tallahassee, FL, in 2010. She worked for Dr. Alan Marshall, co-inventor of Fourier transform ion cyclotron resonance mass spectrometry. Her research dissertation focused on crude oil analysis; specifically, emulsion formation, emulsion breaking, and asphaltene speciation. Dr. Ehrmann joined UNC & the Department of Chemistry in January 2015.


Research Associate  

E. Diane Weatherspoon, M.Sc.
Caudill Laboratories 052 – Office
Curriculum Vitae

Diane is a North Carolina native, originating from Salisbury, North Carolina. She graduated from the University of North Carolina at Greensboro with a Bachelor of Science in Biochemistry and a Master of Science in Chemistry. She studied under Dr. Nadja B. Cech and focused on mass spectrometry based metabolomics analysis of natural products. Diane also worked in the Triad Mass Spectrometry Facility assisting Dr. Daniel A. Todd. She has proficient experience in mass spectrometry, analytical chemistry, and metabolomics data analysis.


Departmental Support:

Jim Cahoon, Ph.D.  Associate Professor of Chemistry, Executive Director for Research Core Facilities for the College of Arts and Science

Ralph House, Ph.D. Associate Chair for Research, Department of Chemistry

Vivian Lin, Adminstrative Associate for Cores, Department of Chemistry

Laura Yurco, Associate Chair for Business Administration